Are journalists taking over the political institutions?

I’m on my way back to my hometown Crawley for the weekend. Andrew Marr’s ‘My Trade’ book, is what I am reading right now on the train. Although I’m still halfway through, I think it gives future media professionals an insight to the history of journalism.

I had to get a photo of this page (188) as it is probably the most controversial part of the book.


It’s true. Journalists are powerful.

But I have a few questions to ask:

Are journalists too caught up in holding politicians accountable for everything?

Are politicians too scared to tell it how it really is, in fear of journalists misinterpreting? (Knowingly or unknowing)

Is it fair to say that journalists are taking advantage of their freedom by mocking politicians?

What happens more? Mocking or reporting?

Or is it that politicians should know that journalists are watching them?

Maybe journalists can’t trust the politicians to exercise their power fairly?

What if the journalists know about some politicians being corrupt, so they want to keep a close eye on the rest?

 

What do you guys think? Comment below!

Leave a comment